In stock


Publication Date: March 2013


Priors is a collection of four stories and one novella, all of which explore the tension between the lives that we want for ourselves and the lives we are living. Set in the northwest, Marcel Jolley’s stories touch on fishing, fathers and sons, death and loss, personal history, hero worship, Alaska, the Pacific Northwest, friendships, relationships, and expectations.


“A raw and powerful collection. ‘Peripherals’ is worth the entrance alone. Marcel Jolley is a great new voice in Northwest literature.”

-Willy Vlautin

“The stories in Marcel Jolley’s Priors give shape to the shapeless-namely, the surprises time holds in store for us all, good and bad, but in any case blessed to have been part of the game. In prose both colloquial and charged with the power of parable, Jolley sings of here and there, now and then. In other words, he tells-and returns to us-our stories, ourselves.”

-Tracy Daugherty

About the Author

Marcel Jolley

Marcel Jolley was born in Skagway, Alaska, and now lives in Camas, Washington, with his wife and son. He is the author of the story collections Neither Here Nor There (Black Lawrence Press, 2007), which won the inaugural St. Lawrence Book Award, and Priors(Black Lawrence Press, 2012). His novella The Following Sea will be published by Black Lawrence Press in 2013.

Visit Author Page