2022 Big Moose Finalists

We’d like to thank all of the writers who participated in the 2022 Big Moose Prize, and we are pleased to present the  finalists and semi-finalists:



The Witches of Detroit – Maureen Aitken
Down Here We Come Up – Sara Allen
Dust Country – Claire Fuqua Anderson
Stray Dog, Watch Over – Susanne Davis
The Moth Orchid – Linda Gorelova
Birds of Abyss – Annie Lampman
How to Be Alive – Meg Little Reilly
The Worst Kind of Girl – Susan Rukeyser
Country of Under – Brooke Shaffner
Mad Man – Gemini Wahhaj


Small People – Redfern Barrett
Human Contingencies – Hannah Binder
American Names – Kurt Engstrom
Body Ghost – Linda Logan
Contingent Contingencies – Leah McCormack
American Carnage – Mark Powell
The Causative Factor – Megan Staffel
At the Center – Lara Tupper
Where the Eye Wanders – Jason Weiss
Minato Sketches – Sharon White


We will choose the winner from the pool of finalists. Stay tuned!