This contest is currently closed.

The St. Lawrence Book Award

Each year Black Lawrence Press will award The St. Lawrence Book Award for an unpublished first collection of poetry or prose. The St. Lawrence Book Award is open to any writer who has not yet published a full-length manuscript in any genre. The winner of this contest will receive book publication, a $1,000 cash award, and ten copies of the book. Prizes are awarded on publication.

Entry Period: July 1 - August 31 Early Bird Period: June 1 - June 30 How to submit ›

How to Submit

Black Lawrence Press accepts submissions exclusively through our online submission manager, Submittable. We are not able to accept submissions via email or postal mail.

All manuscripts should include a title page, table of contents, and when appropriate, an acknowledgments page. Manuscripts should be paginated and formatted in an easy-to-read font such as Garamond or Times New Roman. Please follow the length requirements for the category to which you are submitting. Please include a brief bio or something about yourself in your cover note on Submittable. We look forward to reading your work!


Beginning with the 2021 contest, the St. Lawrence Book Award is judged by a revolving panel of judges, in addition to the Executive Editor and other members of the BLP editorial staff. The judging panel is comprised previous St. Lawrence Book Award Winners, including: Jody Chan, Anna B Sutton, Brad Ricca, KMA Sullivan, Kim Sousa, Jason Tandon, Katie Umans, Leigh Camacho Rourks, and Shubha Sunder.

2021 Winner

Shubha Sunder


Shubha Sunder’s stories and essays have appeared in New Letters, The Common, Narrative Magazine, Michigan Quarterly Review, Catapult, Crazyhorse, and elsewhere. She is a recipient of the Massachusetts Cultural Council Fellowship and the City of Boston Artist Fellowship. Her fiction has received honorable mention in The Best American Short Stories anthology and been shortlisted for The Flannery O’Connor Award, The Hudson Prize, and The New American Fiction Prize. She teaches creative writing at Massachusetts College of Art and Design and at GrubStreet.

Visit Author Page