Big Moose Winner and Short List Announced

The editors at Black Lawrence Press are very pleased to announce that Tracy DeBrincat has won The Big Moose Prize for her novel Hollywood Buckaroo. Tracy will receive $1,000 in prize money and a publication contract from BLP.

Tracy DeBrincat’s award-winning short stories and poetry have been published in journals from Another Chicago Magazine to Zyzzyva. Her short story collection, Moon Is Cotton & She Laugh All Night, received a prize for innovative fiction and was published in 2010 by Subito Press/University of Colorado, Boulder. Her story Badass recently received the 2011 Tusculum Review Prize. She also authors the blog Bigfoot Lives! & Other Literary Adventures. San Francisco is her hometown, but she loves living in Los Angeles, where she is a freelance creative advertising consultant.

Many thanks to everyone who participated in The Big Moose Prize and congratulations to all writers who made it to the long list. We would also like to list the authors who made it to the short list:

Braden Hepner – Dairyman’s Lament
Brian Baldi – The Loud, Large-Scale Heart
Bryan Furuness – The Lost Episodes of Revie Bryson
Hester Kaplan – The Tell
Jennifer Anne Moses – Girls Like You
Joe Taylor – Let There Be Lite
Matthew Runkle – Twos