The St. Lawrence Book Award Winner


The Man Who Noticed Everything

Publication Date: March 2013


Dark, cerebral stories of the American grotesque that light up hidden corners of the individual and national consciousness.


“Adrian Van Young channels such a diversity of mighty literary voices, you’d think this book was an anthology collecting the work of the best young writers of the new generation. But in truth these stories were all written by one man: an astoundingly talented writer.”

-Ben Marcus

Adrian Van Young is the secret love-child of many authors I admire, from Ambrose Bierce to H.P. Lovecraft to Sherwood Anderson to Tobias Wolff. The stories in this collection are not easily forgotten.”

-John Wray

About the Author

Adrian Van Young

Adrian Van Young is the author of The Man Who Noticed Everything, a collection of stories, which won Black Lawrence Press’s St. Lawrence Book Award; the novel, Shadows in Summerland (Open Road Media); and the story collection, Midnight Self (Black Lawrence Press.) He is also the author of Vampire Pool Party, a book for children (Madeleine Editions.) His fiction and non-fiction have been published in Black Warrior Review, Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading, The Baffler, Conjunctions, The Believer, BOMB, Granta, McSweeney's and The New Yorker online. He lives in New Orleans with his family where he teaches American Literature & Creative Writing.

Visit Author Page