Congratulations, Shane McCrae!

Dear Friends,
It is my great pleasure to announce the winner of the Spring, 2012 Black River Chapbook Competition. Congratulations to Shane McCrae for winning the competition with his manuscript Nonfiction!
We are also pleased to announce that two other chapbooks have been selected for publication. Black Lawrence Press will publish No Girls No Telephones by Rebecca Hazelton and Brittany Cavallaro. We will also publish This is not a sky by Jessica Piazza.
Complete lists of the Spring, 2012 Black River Chapbook Competition finalists and semi-finalists can be found on the Black Lawrence Press blog. Now, please let me introduce you to the newest members of the Black Lawrence Press family.
Diane Goettel
Executive Editor
Black Lawrence Press
Winner – Shane McCrae
Shane McCrae is the author of Mule (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 2011), a finalist for the Kate Tufts Discovery Award and the PEN Center USA Literary Award, and Blood (Noemi Press, 2013), as well as two chapbooks, One Neither One (Octopus Books, 2009) and In Canaan (Rescue Press, 2010). His work has appeared, or is forthcoming, in The Best American Poetry 2010, Fence, Gulf Coast, jubilat and others. In 2011, he received a Whiting Writer’s Award.
Finalist – Rebecca Hazelton
No Girls No Telephones
Rebecca Hazelton has been published in Agni, The Southern Review, and The Gettysburg Review, featured on Verse Daily and Ink Node, and included in Best New Poets 2011. She was the 2010-2011 Jay C. and Ruth Hall Poetry Fellow at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Creative Writing Institute. She won The Ohio State Press/The Journal poetry award in 2011, for her forthcoming first book, Fair Copy, and in 2012, won The Discovery/Boston Review Prize. Her second book, Vow, is forthcoming from Cleveland State University Press.
Finalist – Brittany Cavallaro
No Girls No Telephones
Brittany Cavallaro’s poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Tin House, Gettysburg Review, Beloit Poetry Journal, and Best New Poets 2011, among others. Her awards include the David and Jean Milfosky Prize from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she received her MFA, scholarships from the Bread Loaf Writers Conference, and a Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowship from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where she is currently a second year doctoral student.
Finalist – Jessica Piazza
This is not a sky
Jessica Piazza’s first collection of poems, Interrobang, is forthcoming from Red Hen Press in 2013.  She was born and raised in Brooklyn, NY, and is currently a Ph.D. candidate in English Literature and Creative Writing at the University of Southern California.  She is a co-founder of Bat City Review, an editor at Gold Line Press, a contributing editor at The Offending Adam and has blogged for The Best American Poetry and Barrelhouse.  Find out more at