We have a winner: Spring 2015 Black River Chapbook Competition!

We are beyond thrilled to share the news that Meghan Privitello is the winner of the Spring 2015 Black River Chapbook Competition for her poetry chapbook Notes on the End of the World.
privitello photo for author page (1)Meghan Privitello is the author of A New Language for Falling Out of Love (YesYes Books, 2015). Poems have appeared in Gulf CoastKenyon Review OnlineBoston ReviewA Public SpacePlease Excuse This Poem: 100 New Poets for the Next Generation, and elsewhere. She is the recipient of a 2014 NJ State Council of the Arts Fellowship in Poetry.
We are also excited to announce that Black Lawrence Press will additionally be publishing Matthew Raymond’s fiction chapbook, The Muddy Season, which was a finalist in the spring competition. Matthew Raymond’s stories have appeared in Oyster Boy Review and Euphony, and his poetry has appeared in Beloit Poetry Review, Permafrost, Grasslands, and Sulphur River Literary Review.
We couldn’t be happier to add these two amazing chapbooks to our series. Notes on the End of the World and The Muddy Season will both be published by Black Lawrence Press in fall 2016. We’re so happy to welcome both Meghan and Matthew to the BLP family!
Our finalists and semi-finalists were:
FINALISTS (alphabetical)
St. Trigger Lovestruck by Aaron Coleman (poetry)
Life in the Margins by Lâle Davidson (fiction)
If the Body Is a Door by Ruth Madievsky (poetry)
Makes the Daughter-in-Law Cry by Danielle Mitchell (poetry)
Fish, Girls, Flight by David James Poissant (fiction)
Notes on the End of the World by Meghan Privitello (poetry)
The Muddy Season by Matthew Raymond (fiction)
Eastern Seaboard by Rachel Richardson (fiction)
Aphorismia by F Daniel Rzicznek (poetry)
Dissenting Opinion from the Committee for the Beatitudes by Marc Sheehan (fiction)
SEMI-FINALISTS (alphabetical)
Cheating Time by Kim Bradley (fiction)
Mireille by Madeline Carey (fiction)
Two-Headed Boy by Kai Carlson-Wee and Anders Carlson-Wee (poetry)
Marriage Season by Meriwether Clarke (poetry)
The Mechanics of Flight by Hugh Culik (fiction)
Muscle of a Bird by Cherie Hunter Day (poetry)
Girls Prepare for the Apocalypse by Dana Diehl (fiction)
Dead Year by Anne Cecelia Holmes (poetry)
Parables by Maxim Loskutoff (fiction)
Ave by Jennifer Luebbers Leonard (poetry)
Land O’ by Alexandra Lytton Regalado (poetry)
In Praise of Plant Shadows by Marco Maisto (poetry)
Hard-bitten Tongue by Michael Santora (poetry)
A Hierarchy of Animals by Caitlin Scarano (poetry)
The Legend of Steve Prefontaine by Todd Seabrook (fiction)
Minor Late Empire Diversions by Marc Sheehan (poetry)
Passing Strange by AshleyRose Sullivan (fiction)
The Watch Officer’s Guide by Peter Vanderberg (poetry)
I Will Not Kick My Friends by Kathleen Winter (poetry)
Forty Dark Ships by Tobias Wray (poetry)